Desperation, Good Looks, and Getting Fooled

6 Mar

Greece is in a world of hurt, financially, that is.

I’ve heard that desperate times create desperate people. And the people in Greece are showing their desperation. We found this out first hand.

Acropolis, Athens, Greece

Acropolis, Athens, Greece

Arriving in Athens jet-lagged and exhausted, we trudged through the airport toward the train station. Boarding the train to the city, I kept thinking that something was going to go wrong….

Massive amounts of passengers boarded, until it was completely full, with people touching you in places you’d rather remain private.

Panaramic View of Athens

Athens, Greece

Approaching our stop, I made my way to the door, while Mr. Wanderlust, my husband, went to get the bags. As the train slowed, I was in front of the door, waiting for it to open. I felt someone behind me, pushing to get off the train.

What’s the hurry? Stop pushing! I thought, irritated.

And then I turned…

Standing behind me was a young guy, tall and dark headed, wearing an expensive sweater. He was beautiful.

Greek Statue, Olympia, Greece

Imagine this guy in cashmere and you get the idea.

This Adonis-like guy was clearly eager to get off the train. No longer aggravated at being shoved, I figured he was late for work, perhaps curing the woes of the downtrodden of Athens.

When the doors finally opened, I walked out onto the platform with the guy close behind. He ran off, getting lost in the crowd.

Mr. Wanderlust caught up with me, shaking his head and buttoning his back pocket.

“When I was getting the bags, I felt something touch me. I put my hand on my pocket, and there was a guys’ hand back there, trying to grab my wallet. He didn’t get it. But, he couldn’t get out of the train fast enough; once he knew he’d been caught,” Wanderlust explained.

Now I knew why the good-looking, snazzy dressed guy wanted off the train. He was caught red-handed trying to pick-pocket Mr. Wanderlust!

Olympia, Greece

Fortunately, we still had our money or else we might not have made it to Olympia. (Olympia, Greece)

Olympia, Greece

Olympia, Greece

At that moment I realized, you can’t judge a crook by his sweater or his good-looking face. I wondered how many times I had been fooled by an attractive person, when really, I should be guarding my stuff! That guy fooled me, and he almost fooled Mr. Wanderlust.

Now, we hide our money…but, I’d rather not say where…

8 Responses to “Desperation, Good Looks, and Getting Fooled”

  1. Heidi @ homeingreece March 6, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    yikes! glad Mr. Wanderlust nipped Adonis in the bud! Lovely photos – I love Olympia!

  2. jewelsworldtravels March 6, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Had a similar experience in Barcelona getting on the subway, but our pickpocket was a woman who looked like my grandmother; but she moved much faster than my grammy after she had been caught! Thieves come in all packages!

  3. Jenna March 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I spent my 13th birthday with a 10-day visit to Greece! Experience of a lifetime. I love your photos. Sorry for the stinker on the train.

  4. redeyefamily March 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Thanks! We were lucky. My husband had $1,400 in his pocket!That would have been some payday!

  5. redeyefamily March 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Oh, wow! You never know, huh?

  6. redeyefamily March 6, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Greece is wonderful, isn’t it? Even with the problems, it’s a great place.

  7. Kathy Ver Eecke March 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    That is a hysterical story. Of course, only funny because of the good outcome. The way you describe him, I might not mind it if he wanted to check out my pockets! 🙂

  8. redeyefamily March 6, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Yeah, that was my first thought when I saw him…Oooh La La!

Comments are closed.

