My Backwards Bucket List

7 Feb

I love reading Bucket Lists. If anyone has one, I always check it out, looking for interesting places or fun things to do. And while I love reading them, I’ve never made one.

As a salute to all you Bucket List people out there, I’ve decided to write a series of posts that I call my Backwards Bucket List. These are the places I’ve visited (or fun things I’ve done) that would have been on my bucket list, if I had had one. And since I’m going about it backwards, I’m going to call it just that…A Backwards Bucket List.

So, periodically, I’ll write about one of these places. They won’t be posted in any particular order, but they ARE the best-of-my-best. The first thing on my list has to be:

Floating in the Dead Sea

The Dead Sea, Israel

The Dead Sea, Israel

Located on the border with Jordan, this is truly an oasis in the middle of a desert. Who would have thought that this beach-like place could even exist in such a dry climate? This “sea”, which is really a lake, has such a high salt content that you couldn’t sink….even if you tried.

Floating in the Dead Sea

Floating in the Dead Sea. The walkway to the water has handrails because when you wade in, your feet float up from under you. That's buoyancy!

The Dead Sea

The salt lies in layers on the bottom of the sea.

When we visited Israel, we really tried to find an organized group tour that would accept young children. We couldn’t find any. Never deterred, we finally decided to rent a car and drive ourselves. We drove from top (border with Lebanon) to bottom (the Gulf of Aqaba: Red Sea), stopping at any place that interested us. I was pretty nervous driving around by ourselves.  So, we tried to stay within non-disputed areas. We also adhered to the guidelines set out by the U.S. State Department and our guidebooks. (We don’t usually take guidebooks with us, but this was one time we did.)

The Dead Sea, Israel

Lounging on the shores

The Dead Sea area has a resort kind of feel to it, with a shopping area where you can buy all sorts of sea salt creams and lotions.

We stayed at the Crown Plaza, but there are many hotels to choose from.  It had a play-room for kids equipped with toys and staffed with hotel employees to help the kids with craft projects.

If you travel with young children, I recommend only letting them swim in the fresh water pool. The salt water is so strong that it stings their legs. The same goes for shaving….don’t do it before going in…IT WILL STING LIKE FIRE! Better to get in hairy! You can find more interesting Dead Sea facts by clicking on this Dead Sea link.

The Dead Sea, Israel

The swimming pool is great for small children

Dead Sea Salt

You can get spa treatments utilizing Dead Sea salt and mud which supposedly has therapeutic properties.

If you get tired of sitting on the beach, you can visit the ruins of Masada, which are a short drive away and can be seen in an afternoon.

Masada, Israel

The ruins of Masada.

View from Masada in Israel

View of Dead Sea from Masada

Floating in the Dead Sea was such a strange sensation that it has to go on my Backwards Bucket List.

One Response to “My Backwards Bucket List”

  1. redeyefamily August 2, 2013 at 6:44 am #

    Thank you. Your comment means a lot to me and I really appreciate it. I suppose that if I had to boil it down to one thing that I’ve learned through all of our travels it is this: No matter where we come from, people are alike in so many ways. We all care about our families. We want to live our lives to the fullest and we want to be able to worship God in our own way. I am so grateful to have met so many interesting and wonderful people. Thanks and best wishes to you as well.

    Amy

Comments are closed.

