Through the Eyes of a Child: Remembering Petra

31 Jan

I often wonder what my children will remember about our travels.  And even if they don’t remember everything, I hope that traveling will give them a natural curiosity about the world, especially when we visit awe-inspiring places like Petra, Jordan, a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Treasury, Petra, Jordan

Treasury, Petra, Jordan

Here’s what I’d like….

I’d like them to remember walking to the city, through the red sandstone gorge.Gorge, Petra, Jordan

I’d like them to remember that Petra was an important trading city, a crossroads for caravans traveling between Arabia, Egypt, the Mediterranean, Africa, and even India.Petra, Jordan

I’d like them to remember that even though it is located in a desert, the Nabataean Arabs had an efficient dam system that provided water for the entire city.Petra, Jordan

I’d like them to remember that many of the caves were used as tombs.Petra, Jordan

I’d like them to remember the incredible architecture.Treasury, Petra, Jordan

But then, I have to be realistic and admit that what they will probably remember about Petra is that it had very cool rocks and lots of red dirt to play with.Red Eye Family Kids

4 Responses to “Through the Eyes of a Child: Remembering Petra”

  1. Jenna January 31, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Did it taste good? They may not remember, but the photos will inspire them to return and create NEW memories with their own families!

  2. redeyefamily January 31, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    It probably did taste good. They had no complaints!

  3. customtripplanning January 31, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    They look pretty young so realistically they may not remember it at all, unless you review the photos with them often. But what they are learning is the joy of exploring and will be more open to different foods, cultures and environments than people whose parents don;t even take them across the county line. Great job mom!!!

  4. redeyefamily January 31, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Thank you so much for the encouragement! I really appreciate it.

Comments are closed.

