This Photo Stinks!

3 Apr

Durian Fruit in BangkokIn February, when we were in Asia, we came across a fruit called durian. I had never even heard of it, but we were very curious to try it since people snickered every time we asked about it.  What was so funny? We soon found out…

This fruit is infamous for its smell. And I’m not talking about a good smell. I’m talking a smell that’s downright horrid! Just to give you an idea, it’s like something rotting out of your bun-hole mixed with cooked cabbage. It is TRULY that bad!

So when we saw a vendor selling it on the street in Bangkok, we just had to smell it. One whiff and I was looking for a trash can to vomit into.  The vendor laughed his head off, although I’m sure I wasn’t the first tourist he’s seen gagging over the odor.

street vendor in bangkok selling durian

The gag was on me...pun intended.

People must love it, though, because it was everywhere. In Singapore, it was even an ice cream flavor.

A slice of ice cream is crammed between two slices of green and pink swirl bread and presto! You have an ice cream sandwich that is best left to the locals. Not only was the ice cream not fit for human consumption, but the bread left you burping up some weird after-taste for hours.

Durian ice cream between two slices of bread

There was NO way I was going to try durian ice cream! I stuck with plain old vanilla.

Eating durian ice cream

But, look who did eat it. My husband.Ugh!

And just in case you think I’m exaggerating its stench, here is a sign posted at the airport.

Durian in the airport

Neither durian nor hand-guns are allowed on planes. Believe me, this fruit could be used as a weapon of mass destruction, sending passengers scrambling for barf bags if let loose on a plane.

Starvation had to be the only reason someone ate this fruit in the first place. I figure that when the first person tried it and didn’t die, other starving people tried it out, too.

When writing this post, I came across a website that tells a funny story about durian. If you want a laugh, I highly suggest you read it along with the comments.

One person commenting on the website gives this description:

D.I.Y. Durian
-Get yo mama’s old socks wear them and run a marathon
-squeeze the sweat out of them into a bowl
-repeat twice
-chop a dead rat into pieces and mix with sweat into bowl
-do a poo in the bowl (make sure you have laxatives before)
-regurgitate 2 dinners into bowl

-mix together and eat… YUM YUM!!! THIS IS DURIAN!!!!


Amen brother!  I couldn’t have said it any better.

You can find photos from other bloggers at deliciousbaby.com,budget travelers sandbox. and R We There Yet Mom.

18 Responses to “This Photo Stinks!”

  1. Jenna April 3, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    “weapon of mass destruction, sending passengers scrambling for barf bags if let loose on a plane ”

    Or, might cause a delay of massive proportions! LOVE your style!

    • redeyefamily April 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      You are so funny! That is right…a major delay.

    • Michael October 31, 2012 at 6:07 am #

      I LOVE durian!!! It’s probably how you prepare it (in an brain freezing smoothy seems best).. I think it took me one or two goes to decide I liked it or not. I don’t even find the smell offensive… and never did. There’s a school of thought that goes if it smells good to you it must be good for you (anopsology). This is one example of that at work..

      • redeyefamily December 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

        Just last month we were traveling though Thailand and my husband tried the durian Popsicles. He liked it a lot but I still can’t get past the smell!

  2. Meredith April 3, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Nothing about this fruit sounds appealing! I would NOT be brave enough to try it.

    • redeyefamily April 3, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      I couldn’t even stand the smell, much less taste it!

  3. Lisa April 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    The entire time that I was reading your description I was wondering what ever would have possessed someone to eat such a foul smelling food in the first place. And why would people who clearly aren’t starving continue to eat it? Clearly I’m not a very adventurous eater because I’d steer clear of durian!!

    • redeyefamily April 4, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      Lisa, you are so right. I can’t imagine why people eat it either. I don’t think I could EVER acquire a taste for it. Supposedly, it tastes very creamy and buttery, which seems strange to me since it doesn’t smell like that. Isn’t your sense of smell a big part of taste? If so, it can’t possibly taste buttery.

    • Ratmeat May 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Durian tastes great! Especially when it is frozen. I do not know what you people are thinking :) The smell may be very pungent.

      • redeyefamily May 20, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

        Finally! Someone who can defend the taste of durian! I’ve heard it’s better when frozen, just because the taste isn’t so pungent as you so tastefully point out. But, I’m still not convinced.

  4. Anwar April 5, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Haha the smell is definitely…interesting. I tried durian candy before…didn’t really care for it…but I can understand your aversion to it.

    • redeyefamily April 6, 2012 at 8:14 am #

      Congratulations! I’m impressed that you tried the candy! You are one brave man.

  5. Mary @ The World Is A Book April 5, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Unfortunately, I’ve smelled durian and will refuse any durian flavored dessert even ice cream on a humid day. Your husband is a brave guy =) Love that funny site. Don’t know if you’re familiar with The Travel Chanel’s Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern. We’ve seen that guy eat the grossest things but he couldn’t swallow a piece of durian due to the stench.

    • redeyefamily April 6, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      It makes me feel better to know that even a guy who eats gross food for a living won’t try durian. I don’t feel like such a wimp! As for my husband, he said it wasn’t that bad. Ugh!

  6. customtripplanning April 6, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    I used to work for a Chinese doctor who called a staff meeting for a Saturday in a Chinese restaurant with a buffet. He was excited to share with us more authentic food as the restaurant cooked for the Asian students and doctors that day more than for the Americans. Excited to share a childhood treat with me he urged me to “take more!” of a dish he would not describe….and one small taste was all I could manage of this very very fishy flavor. It made me realize that we get used to what we learn as a child. When I travel overseas I don’t want to know WHAT something is until after I taste it…so often our preconceived notions can turn us off from the experience. But I think with durian, I would finally appreciate that my sinus problems have wrecked my sense of smell and depressed my taste buds. LOL

    • redeyefamily April 6, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      Absolutely right. It seems that our sense of taste DOES develop in childhood. It’s hard, though, because you don’t want to offend anyone, especially in your case when your boss was eagerly wanting you to try and appreciate his childhood treat. What a difficult situation!

  7. Sonja April 6, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    Seems a natural food with an odor like that would be nature’s way of saying Do Not Eat. Why would people even try it?

    • redeyefamily April 6, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      For the life of me, I can’t figure it out either!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

